Vegetarianism has its roots from ancient India and ancient Greece. Though we have many varieties of vegetarianism today but if we stick to its original meaning it involves the practice of following a diet that includes fruits, vegetables, cereal grains, nuts, and seeds, with or without dairy products or eggs. A vegetarian does not eat meat, including game, poultry, fish, crustacean and shell fish.
There are various types of vegetarianism, which exclude or include various foods.
- Ovo vegetarianism includes eggs but not dairy products.
- Lacto vegetarianism includes dairy products but not eggs.
- Ovo-lacto vegetarianism (or lacto-ovo vegetarianism) includes animal/dairy products such as eggs, milk, and honey.
- Veganism excludes all animal flesh and animal products, including milk, honey, and eggs, and may also exclude any products tested on animals, or any clothing from animals.
- Raw veganism includes only fresh and uncooked fruit, nuts, seeds, and vegetables. Vegetables can only be cooked up to a certain temperature.
- Fruitarianism permits only fruit, nuts, seeds, and other plant matter that can be gathered without harming the plant.
- Buddhist vegetarianism (also known as su vegetarianism) excludes all animal products as well as vegetables in the Allium family (which have the characteristic aroma of onion and garlic): onion, garlic, scallions, leeks, or shallots.
- Macrobiotic diets consist mostly of whole grains and beans.
- Semi-vegetarian diets consist largely of vegetarian foods, but may include fish or poultry, or other meats on an infrequent basis.
- Pescetarian diet includes “fish but no meat” .
I belong to the last one, Pescetarian.
Which one are you ?